Day 5: Zero Waste Week

Today is the final day of Zero Waste Week 2016, which has run from the 5-9 September. The theme is food waste.

My goal for the week was to reduce my food waste, carrying out small manageable tasks on a daily basis. This approach worked well for me, and I’ve been surprised by how much I’ve achieved. Although my food waste bin has more in it that an average week, that’s because I’ve spent energy sorting out my food storage, and have banished everything that was so out of date I could no longer use it.

img_0664

Here’s a peek in my food waste bin – yum!

I’ve managed to fill my freezer with lots of food – some of it cooked up with vegetables that were past their best and would, I fear, otherwise have found themselves destined for the compost.Having several portions of dinners ready to defrost is going to make it easier to meal plan, which in turn will assist me in reducing food waste.

A surprising side benefit of Zero Waste Week has been that it’s kick-started me with cooking – once I’ve whipped up a few batches of meals, I realise it’s no big deal and have been cooking more, even when there’s no almost-off food needing used up.

My biggest obstacle is disorganisation. I don’t prioritise food waste and planning normally and this has resulted in me buying more than we can eat and leaving food to go off.   I did however sort the fridge out and as you can see from the picture below, my cupboard has been organised.

img_0668

There’s even a shelf for the iron again

See yesterday’s post for the before picture.

Thanks to everyone who’s been reading this week,and well done if you’ve saved anything from being wasted. Good luck to us all as we continue to try and defeat food waste!

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Zero Waste Week

  1. Sounds like a brilliant achievement. I too have cooked more this week – I’m now the proud owner of 4 apple crumbles in the freezer made from windfalls AND I had a go at making tortilla wraps. Woohoo for us. Thanks so much for taking part and sharing such detailed and exciting posts – you had me on the edge of my seat!

  2. I’ve just caught up on all your posts. You’ve done really well. I too suffer from “duplicates due to disorganisation” although mine usually comes from not writing a shopping list and not remembering whether or not we have it in the house!
    You’ve inspired me to organise my cupboards and start batch cooking again. Excellent posts. Well done x

Leave a Reply

