Zero Waste Week 2015

It’s been a while, but I’m bursting back into the Blogosphere – the new school term has started so I now have a little time to call my own (phew!), plus I have my duties to fulfil as a Zero Waste Week Ambassador!

It’s a grand title for a grand task.

Click here for National Zero Waste week 2015

Zero Waste Week runs this year from 7 -13 September aka next week! It is oh so aptly named, simply because it is there to help all us ordinary folk reduce the trash we send to landfill. This year’s theme is Reuse which is pretty clever as you can join in simply by pledging something as ridiculously simple as swapping your disposable tissues for reusable ones (thus reducing your waste), or as head-scratchingy challenging as reusing anything that would’ve otherwise been chucked in your bin.

Do check out the website www.zerowaste.co.uk and browse through the ambassador list to find inspiring blogs to read next week (and forever more).

My personal Zero Waste Pledge for the week is to reuse fabric. One of my New Year Resolutions was to learn to sew (you can read more about that here and here) and although I have been pretty poor to date at recording my progress on the blog, I am happy to report that I have been sewing my little heart out during the first 8 months of 2015. I will therefore be sharing some of my ideas and projects for reusing fabric and upcycling clothes in a number of blog posts next week.

Here is a sneak peek at one of the projects I will be posting about:

FullSizeRender

Spoiler: this skirt used to be a different item of clothing

I would absolutely love it if you could share any posts with me that you’ve written on this subject as I just can’t read enough about upcycling fabric 🙂

This will be the third year that I’ve documented my Zero Waste Week experience, so if you’d like to browse my previous posts on the topics of ‘Reducing Food Waste’ and ‘One More Thing’ please take a look here.

See you back on the blog next week!

8 thoughts on “Zero Waste Week 2015

  1. Wonderful pledge! Up cycling fabric isn’t my forte so I’m in awe of anyone who takes the reigns and gets sewing or knitting. Good luck with the week and I look forward to reading your updates! X

Leave a Reply

