Supermarket-free Lent 2015: Day 8

I am amazed that in the last week, I’ve done so little shopping. Admittedly, we have been living to some extent on what is already in our cupboards, but I must’ve spent significantly less than I usually would in the same period.

Throughout January and February, I was becoming alarmed at how often I found myself in the supermarket.  We always seemed to be short of something, or I needed to find something easy for dinner. Somehow I never left the supermarket with the couple of items I was just popping in for. I really was wondering how on earth I was going to manage being supermarket-free this Lent.

However, with double portions of fruit and veg being delivered to our doorstep (as a result of me increasing our veg box order), we are all eating a lot more of this lovely fresh produce as snacks. The pears and apples that are in season just now are delicious, and I’m finding that I’m having to limit how many the children eat to prevent sore tummies. This makes me realise that the Pom Bear/Oaty Bar ilk of treats I’m used to stocking up on, have been somewhat unnecessary!

I have also now visited my first physical shop – twice in fact! The farm shop I grew to rely on during my last two supermarket-free stints has closed, and a bigger better shop has opened in its place. Initially, this sent me into a bit of a panic because the new shop looked decidedly like a supermarket.

IMG_1680

I searched for it on the internet however, and discovered that the Nisa sign above the door is actually good news for me.  Nisa stores are franchised, and are essentially local businesses (local businesses – yay!) that get support to help them compete for their share of the market – you can read more here.

The store is great!

IMG_1695 (1)IMG_1693 (1)

It has a variety of products, including its own bakery counter and a small café area. The prices seem competitive and, although I haven’t taken the time to work out whether I would pay more or less in my local supermarket for an equivalent shop, I found that I didn’t spend a scary amount.

Also, I hardly bought anything on impulse – partly because there were less of the extras and wild deals that I’m so used to in the supermarket, and partly because I used a wheelie basket and ran out of space to put anything else in it! (The trollies took £1 coins and I didn’t have any). In addition, I had the kids with me, and they were getting in everyone’s way dragging the basket around – fun for all the family – so I wanted to get out as quickly as I could!

My final thought for tonight is that Mothers’ Day is on Sunday 15th March. Last year I wrote this post which makes for depressing reading (I wonder if I blew the whole issue a little out of proportion!).  I wrote with a heavy heart about buying my Mothers’ Day gifts and cards from chain stores. It seems that they lacked the personal touch – I have no recollection of what they actually were! This year I need to do Mothers’ Day differently if I want to spare you another self-deprecating post…I need to get planning!

7 thoughts on “Supermarket-free Lent 2015: Day 8

  1. This sounds indeed like an un-supermarket supermarket 🙂 The nearest one to me is in Dalkeith which still means a 10k cycle…

    But have you considered ordering online? Like from http://www.ethicalsuperstore.com/ which has the bad word in its name but if you accept nisa, then maybe they are ok, too? They have recycled toilet paper, for example. It does come in plastic packaging though.

    • Yes! I have used the Ethical Superstore quite a lot (you’ll find references in my blog) and I find it really helpful. Plastic-free toilet paper is really hard to find – I think there’s a post about that too! but I used paper hankies from the Tesco Value range (no plastic strip on the lid) during Plastic Free July. Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  2. Pingback: Supermarket-free Lent 2015: Day 13 | westywrites

  3. Pingback: Lent 2015: Day 22 | westywrites

  4. Pingback: Lent 2015: Day 36 | westywrites

Leave a Reply

