New Year’s Resolutions 2015

Happy New Year!

Some people love making resolutions, while others don’t. I fall firmly into the first category. The New Year is an opportunity to start afresh. The tricky part of setting goals is to make them attainable. It’s simply depressing to write a long list of hopes and aspirations for the year, just to have them float out of reach by the end of January when it’s cold, you’re maybe back at work, and you’re coming down with the ‘flu… It’s hard not to think ‘what’s the point?!’ and stop trying.

Last year I set myself five goals for 2014, all relevant to my desire to live a more sustainable lifestyle. None of them were especially easy, but I found that those I was more focused on achieving (surprise! surprise!), were the ones I got better outcomes for. You can see how I got on here.

I’ve been boosted by the progress I made, so this year my New Year’s Resolutions build on of some 2014’s:
1. Buy a very limited number of clothes for me, and a (less) limited amount for my children. I’d also like to avoid buying clothes to give as gifts. My aim is to prevent supporting the (largely) unethical fashion industry – for more detail, see my post from last year. Where I do purchase clothes I will endeavour to use tools, such as The Good Shopping Guide, to buy as ethically as possible.

2. Learn to sew. The aim of this is to allow me to efficiently mend the clothes my family already has, plus – in time – try my hand at adapting the children’s clothes so that they might continue to get wear out of their outfits as they grow. One day I’d like to attempt making my own clothes from ethical materials, but I accept that this may not be something I achieve in 2015.

3. Learn to knit. I would love to master this skill. Ideally I will learn to make gifts for others as well as household staples such as socks, using UK wool. For 2015 I will aim to be able to produce a few basic items that would be of a high enough standard to give as presents. This cuts out poor worker conditions, and reduces the air miles my finished items have travelled.

4. Go supermarket-free for Lent. This will be the third year that I’ve given up supermarkets for a specific period. Each time I do it, I learn more and get less dependent on using them. I like to support local businesses and opt out of the poor environmental practices that are rife in the supply chain of supermarkets. You can read how I got on last year in my concluding post and please, if you’d like to, join in!

5. Reduce my rubbish. This is a resolution carried over from last year that got somewhat neglected. I can do better! I will continue to monitor and reduce my use of single-use plastics, plus I will aim to put out less rubbish – half a black bag per week would be a pleasing reduction. My local authority is finally due to collect food waste in April so I should be able to get rid of all food waste (as opposed to the limited items that can go in the garden compost) so with a boost like that, I have no excuses!

I’ve tried to keep my resolutions manageable and realistic. If I had more time, I’d break them all down into smaller goals, with specific tasks to be achieved each quarter. As I bet many other bloggers can relate to though, I find it a difficult to balance achieving my goals with recording all the work that goes into them! We’ll see how I get on…

If you have any tips or posts on how to nail those New Year’s Resolutions, feel free to let me know!

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2015

  1. I recall you are based in Scotland. If you are anywhere near Edinburgh, you could check out Edinburgh Yarn Fest (Mid March) for some inspiration for British Wool. You might even pick up some information on knitting workshops for beginners – many yarn shops run them.

    I love knitting and pretty much make all my knitwear. This really does give me more control over the environmental and ethical supply chain for many of my clothes. And, although I am a proficient knitter, I can only knit so fast which slows the accumulation of new clothes. There are many perks to knitting your own (e.g. the warmth of the garments) but a key one is that having spent weeks making a garment, you do take much better care of it and patch it in time!

    Good luck with your resolutions!

    • Thanks for the Yarn Fest tip – that may indeed be manageable, sounds really interesting!

      It’s great you’re at the point where you make all your own knitwear. I anticipate it’ll take me a long time to get to that stage (if ever!) but it’s a lovely thing to aspire to.

  2. Pingback: Kicking off the knitting adventure | westywrites

  3. Pingback: Zero Waste Week 2015 | westywrites

  4. Pingback: Shirt to skirt for Zero Waste Week | westywrites

Leave a Reply

