Plastic-free Me: The (almost) plastic-free pizza

My bread maker turns one year old this week!

I know! You must all be thinking that it’s non-stop celebrating just now – what with me only having put the champagne away after my 100th post, just days ago 😉 What a crazy time!!

Anyway, I do think my bread maker deserves a post of its own. It was one of those pieces of kit that we debated over buying. I very much wanted one as I felt I needed more control over the ingredients that went into my bread (or rather, the bread that my children would eat – let’s face it, I’d not given a stuff about the rubbish that is in a supermarket loaf until my precious babies came along!) My other half agreed, but I knew we were both silently acknowledging that we’ve ebay-ed more almost-new stuff than we care to admit to, when the novelty has worn off.

Still, I really really thought we’d use it and – hooray! – for once I was right. That shiny new white appliance we brought home a year ago, now proudly sports smudges and grease from the number of loaves of bread it’s made (I estimate over 100).

photo (395)

It is a multi-talented monster of a machine, and, as well as making bread, it can also do marmalade, jam, cake mix and pizza dough. In my family, we all love the pizza it helps us to make. The other day, I wondered if it might help me to make a plastic-free pizza so that, if nothing else, we can have this delicious (and not entirely unhealthy) treat during Plastic Free July.

2067

Once again however, I got close, but no cigar! I was beaten by some ‘plasticy’ materials in the packaging of some of the ingredients. Here’s what I used:

Dough
Water (tap)
Butter (paper and foil packaging, but there’s plastic in there, discovered when I soaked it and ripped it apart)
Sugar (paper bag)
Salt (this can be bought in exclusively cardboard packaging from Lidles, I believe – thanks @polytheenpam !)
Strong white bread flour (paper bag)
Fast action yeast (dubious foil bag which I am convinced has plastic in it)

Tomato sauce
Olive oil (I still haven’t been to the deli to buy this plastic-free, but I have time!)
Onion, garlic, fresh tomatoes (all plastic-free from my veg-box)
Tomato puree (glass jar, but plastic lid)
Caster sugar (paper bag)
Lemon juice (from lemon, bought loose)
Black pepper (bought in glass spice jar, but with plastic lid)

Topping
Cheese (I have yet to search out somewhere I can buy this packaging free, but I haven’t asked around – please leave a comment if you know anywhere in or around Edinburgh!)

photo (392)

I reckon I could easily ditch the pepper for July and even leave out the tomato puree if I chucked in a few more tomatoes and drained the excess juice off – what do you think?

This would be the plastic waste that would result:

photo (396)

A 20th of the yeast packet, a tbsp worth of the butter & quarter of the cheese wrapper

You can see from the photo that I teamed my pizza with sweetcorn from a clearly plastic-lined tin, so that will have to go too during July too!

photo (393)

Hmmm, maybe it’d be better to just go to Pizza Hut and not ask any questions!! 😉

15 thoughts on “Plastic-free Me: The (almost) plastic-free pizza

  1. I love the plastic free July Challenge idea – it is probably a bit late to join in fully but its definitely got me thinking about how much plastic comes in through our front door.

    Regarding cheese – could you not take your own container to a deli or a deli portion of a major supermarket and ask them to cut you off however much you need and stick the label on the container. I think that Zero Waste Chef who is almost entirely plastic free all the time does something similar, maybe you could ask her?

    Her blog is over here: http://zerowastechef.com/

    • Yes, I must get in touch!

      Thanks for the suggestion. I must get on to it. Was at the supermarket last week and thought about asking but just wasn’t in the mood for discussing being plastic-free to someone who might never have thought of the concept!

  2. I make my own tomato purée (http://thesnailofhappiness.com/2013/08/31/pass-the-passata/) which I freeze every year – we are still eating it from last summer. You can buy fresh corn on the cob (packed in its own leaves!) and you can get your cheese from a deli. On pizza, I use Morbier rather than Mozzarella and our lovely local cheese shop sells it wrapped in waxed paper. I never use butter in breads, only olive or sunflower oil (glass bottles, but a plastic pourer). As for yeast, I have no answer… even fresh yeast comes wrapped in plastic.

    • Thanks for all of this useful info. Making tomato puree sounds like a better idea than just draining tomatoes! I need to get myself round a few cheese shops, I reckon I should be able to get in plastic-free with a bit of research. Saying that, I should probably have got on to that research a bit earlier!!

  3. fantastic achievement – well done you! I second Becky’s comment – I take my own reusable container to the deli for cheese.

    On another note; it still has a plastic lid, but I’m sure doves farm do small tins of yeast which would at least reduce the plastic packaging.

    However, a baker will probably give you live yeast for free – it’s worth asking friendly local. You could go armed with some greaseproof paper then need to get it home to the fridge. Alternatively for a pizza base, self raising flour can work well.

  4. I totally forgot – regarding yeast. Why not ditch it and make a scone based pizza. I prefer scone based pizza. It is richer and totally non-authentic but it is heavenly!

Leave a Reply

